Group Alumni

Graduate Students


Dr. Adel Soroush (Ph.D., 2022)

  • Membrane Senior Scientist, Repligen Crop.
  • The role of continuous contaminant exposure and natural organic matter on the evolving reactivity of iron oxide nanoparticles

Dr. Clare Johnston (Ph.D. Chemistry, 2021)

  • The Influence of Aluminum Substitution on the Synthesis, Transformation, Reactivity, and Oxidative Mineral Growth of Iron Oxide Minerals

Dr. Matthew Berens (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2020)

Dr. Meghan (O’Connor) Brockman (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2020)

Dr. Priya Hora (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2020)

  • Senior Member of Technical Staff, Sandia National Labs
  • Assessing the persistence of emerging contaminants in wastewater treatment and surface waters

Dr. Jeanette Voelz (Ph.D., Chemistry, 2019)

  • Chemist, WuXi AppTec
  • Classifying Iron in Redox Reactions between Iron-Bearing Minerals and Environmental Contaminants

Dr. Andrew McCabe (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2017)

Dr. Jill Kerrigan (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2017)

Dr. Jennifer Strehlau (Ph.D., Chemistry, 2016)

Dr. Amanda Vindedahl (Ph.D., Chemistry, 2015)

Dr. David Tan (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2014)

Dr. Megan Kelly (Ph.D. Water Resources Science, 2013)

Dr. Teng Zeng (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2012)

Dr. Sarah Page (Ph.D. Chemistry, 2012)

Dr. Andrew Warta (Ph.D. Chemical Engineering, 2010)

Dr. Erin Surdo (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2009)

Dr. Jeffrey Buth (Ph.D. Chemistry, 2009)

Dr. Jeff Werner (Ph.D. Water Resources Science, 2006; M.S. WRS 2004)

  • Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, SUNY Cortland

Dr. Chanlan Chun (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2006)

  • Associate Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Minneosta-Duluth

Dr. Todd DeJournett (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2005)

  • Senior Engineer at Geosyntec – Water and Wastewater Process Design, Minneapolis, MN

Dr. Tsutomu “Shimo” Shimotori (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2005; M.S. Civil Eng. 2001)

  • Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering and Manager, Research Instrumentation Laboratory, University of MN-Duluth

Dr. Li Zhang (Ph.D. Civil Engineering, 2004)

  • Environmental Engineer, City of Minneapolis Public Works


Eric Noe (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2022). Environmental Engineer, Black and Veatch

  • Assessing the Effect of Pre-Oxidation at Different Stages of Water Treatment to Limit N-Nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA) Formation

Joshua Kirk (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2020). Environmental Engineer, Barr Engineering

Quinn Whiting (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2020), ORISE/U.S. EPA, Cincinnati, OH (2020-2022), Ph.D. Student, University of Minnesota-Duluth, 2022-

Lara Frankson (M.S. Water Resources Science, 2020), Chemist, Agricultural Research Service, USDA, St. Paul MN

Stephen Todey (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2018), Sr. Project Engineer, 3M

Michael McCarty (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2016), Chemist WuXi AppTec

Grant Wallace (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2015), Project Engineer, GEI Consultants, Raleigh, NC

Louis Sigtermans (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2014), Environmental Engineer, Wenck & Associates

Hao Pang (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2013), Manager, Data Science Discover Financial Services

Cale Anger (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2012) – Deceased

Dr. R. Noah Hensley (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2012; Ph.D. Physics, University of Otago, NZ) – Water Supply Procss Scientist, Dunedin, NZ

Alissa Dienhart Lawler (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2012), Wenck & Associates, MN

Kevin Erickson (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2010)-Arcadis, NY

Kirsten (Moore) Baker (M.S., Civil Engineering, 2010)-Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Chris Ryan (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2009)-Arcadis, MN

Peter Steen (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2009)-Wuxi AppTec, MN

Michael Henjum (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2009)-, Bonneville Power, OR

Christine (Wennen) Tufts (M.S. Water Resources Science, 2009)-Antea Group

Jeremiah Jazdzewski (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2007)-Engineer, Houston Engineering, MN

Jon Doering (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2006)-last known–Principal Environmental, Health and Safety Representative, Global Business Solutions, Shoreview, MN

Jacob Thompson (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2004)-Engineer, Leggette, Brashears and Graham, St. Paul, MN

Jennifer Packer (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2002)-Boston Scientific, MN

Song Wang  (M.S. Civil Engineering, 2002)-Business leader at Honeywell

Visiting Students

Bin Wu from Tongi University

Ida Engen from NTNU conducted M.S. research in the Arnold lab in 2016.

Cecilie Brekke and Camilla Overgaard from the University of Stavanger, Norway conducted their M.S. research in the Arnold lab in 2012.

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Huan He, Research Assistant Professor, Tongi University.

Dr. William Longo, Gradient Corp.

Dr. Yake Wang

Dr. Yiran Tong, Environmental Engineer, Wenck & Associates

Dr. Yiling Chen, Associate Professor at Institute of Environmental and Ecological Engineering, Guangdong University of Technology 

Dr. Natasha Wright – Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, U of MN

Dr. Sarah Pati– Research Associate and Ambizione Fellow, Department of Environmental Sciences, Biogeochemistry Group, University of Basel, Switzerland

Dr. Craig Davis – Environmental Scientist, Exxon Mobil

Dr. Daniel McInnis – Dakota Technologies, Inc.

Dr. Ana Prieto – Assistant Professor, University of Chile

Dr. Ekrem Karpuzcu – Assistant Professor, Istanbul Technical University

Dr. Kristine Wammer-Associate Dean and Professor, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, MN

Dr. Jeong-yub Lee-Environment & Energy Dept., Posco, South Korea

Dr. Sung-chul Kim-Associate Research Professor, Kangwon National University, South Korea

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: